Contest Result

I had entered my manuscript in “Launching a Star” contest a few months ago.

Well, I received judges comments and scores yesterday. While my entry did not make it to the final round, the scores and comments were encouraging.

Out of 150 possible points, one judge (published author) scored me 141, and the other judge (unpublished) gave me 129.

I received perfect scores from both judges in 3 areas: opening, POV, and voice.

Chracterization, setting, pacing, dialogue, and conflict/plot received strong scores.

They commented that I left out a couple of tiny words. One sentence needed fixing because subject/verb conflict.

One comment that confused me:

– adjectives are futuristic (I don’t know what this means and the judge didn’t mark where this happened. Can someone explain this to me?)

Overall, both judges commented that the plot was intriguing and they loved the voice. Glad there wasn’t major revision items.

Now what’s next? Query or another contest? I don’t know. I’ll have to give it some thought. Sometimes, I wish I had a mentor who could help me decide.

 

 

3 Responses to Contest Result

  1. Dara says:

    Adjectives that are futuristic? That’s really confusing! I’ve no clue what that means…

    Even though you didn’t final, at least the comments were constructive and helpful. 🙂 And I read your query–I like the premise of the story a lot. Definitely something I would read!

  2. Jeannie Lin says:

    Hi Gina! I followed you here from Victoria’s blog. I was intrigued that you have a story opening in Korea. I spent three months working in Seoul for Korea First Bank. It was one of the most eye-opening experiences in my life. Asian romance is rare, but I’m hoping for a break in the clouds soon!

    As to your question about query or contest? Both! (If you feel the whole book is ready.) I used contests and queries to bounce off of each other and figure out what I needed to improve on.

  3. Gina Logue says:

    Hi Jeannie,
    Wow, my heroine goes to work for a bank in Seoul, too! What a coincidence.

    I think you are right. I’ll do both contests and queries. Thanks for stopping by and chiming in.

Leave a Reply

