A Miracle Healing

Several years ago after donating blood, my heart began racing at random intervals. The intervals were short enough (somewhere between seconds and minutes) to distract me and cause problems.

I ran out of breath easily. Couldn’t run or play tennis anymore without thinking I was dying of a heart attack. This went on for a couple of months before I made an appointment with my doctor.

They attached wires to my pulsing veins for 24 hours and the doctor concluded that yes, indeed my heart raced at random intervals. I told him that, but I guess he had to see the result from the machine before he believed me.

My doctor prescribed me medicine that will slow my heart beat and told me to check back in two weeks. During those two weeks, I experimented. When I took the medicine, my heart went back to beating at a normal rate. Then I would skip my medication and the random racing would return. I did this several times and always getting the same result.

After two weeks, I went back for my follow-up. My doctor listened to my heart.

“Is the medication working?” he asked.

“Yep,” I answered.

“Let’s keep taking the medication then.”

“For how long?” I asked. I really hate taking medication.

“For as long as you need to,” he answered. “You may need to take it for the rest of your life.”

I was bummed. I was in my early 30s and the prospect of having to be on heart medication for the rest of my life really depressed me. I know that there are a lot of people with more serious health problems who have to take medicine. So compared to others, my problem was nothing, really.

But I’ve always been very healthy and strong and while I didn’t mind dying of a heart attack, the thought of living the rest of my life on heart medication depressed me. I left doctor’s office with a heavy heart.

As I drove, I felt the Holy Spirit urging me to pray for healing. I obeyed. I went home and knelt down beside my bed and prayed. By the time I finished my prayer, I knew I had been healed and that I would not take the medication.

I never took my heart medicine again, and it has been several years. My last two annual wellness check-ups had my heart beating at 54 and 48 beats per minute.

For whatever reason, God chose to heal me. I am grateful.

Leave a Reply

