Counting the Cost and Investing in Faith

So I believed that God loved me.

I didn’t know what the next step was, so I attended the Bible study every week after that and asked a lot of questions. Like, why does God allow bad things? Why is there so much pain and suffering? What does it mean to trust God? How does God’s sovereignty work with man’s freewill?

Pat, the Bible study teacher, told me later that I gave her headaches with my hundreds of questions. 🙂

I think I was counting my cost. Yes, I believed God loved me, but at this stage, I didn’t know HIM personally and intimately. I didn’t know whether I could entirely trust HIM and surrender my life to HIM.

Pat is an excellent teacher, but she couldn’t answer all my questions. If she knew everything about God, she would be God.

In the end, I had to decide whether to believe God’s Word that Jesus Christ died for my sins and answer His call to follow HIM or go it alone.

Well, I had lived 26 years of my life on my own and knew how hollow and meaningless life had been. I didn’t want that.

Several months after I first attended the Bible study, I finally surrendered my life to Christ. Up to that point, I had never stepped inside of a church. The only religious service I’ve experience was Jehovah’s Witness Kingdom Hall and chapel service in the gymnasium of Speer Girls’ High School.

Did my life change? Yes. I voluntarily read the Bible and love reading it! More amazingly, the Words mean something to me like never before, and I desire to apply it in my life. I see God in everything that I never recognized before.

Best of all, even when my life seems to fall apart, I am no longer without hope. My hope is in my Best Friend, my Savior, and my God, Jesus Christ.

Leave a Reply

